Kyle Steyn & Scott Cummings added to Scotland World Cup training squad

Kyle Steyn
South Africa-born Kyle Steyn, 25, (right) has previously represented Scotland Sevens

Uncapped Glasgow Warriors duo Scott Cummings and Kyle Steyn have been added to Scotland's World Cup training squad by head coach Gregor Townsend.

Townsend initially named 42 players and said Toulouse lock Richie Gray could still claim one of two vacant spots.

But Cummings has been preferred after a strong finish to the term, culminating in a Pro14 final appearance.

Steyn has shone for Glasgow at centre, but Townsend said he is being primarily considered as a winger.

"Kyle has made an excellent impact since his debut for Glasgow earlier this season and has displayed strong defensive capabilities as well as a providing go-forward when carrying ball," Townsend said.

"We have others in our squad that we view more as centre/wings but I'm sure over the course of the summer Kyle will get the opportunity to show what he can do in both positions.

"Scott's selection is a testament to how well he has performed throughout the season and in particular over the past few weeks."

Scotland will play home and away summer Tests against Georgia and France before the autumn World Cup in Japan.

There the Scots will face the hosts as well as Ireland, Russia and Samoa.

Scott Cummings
Cummings, 22, has played up to Scotland Under-20 level

Scotland training squad


John Barclay (Edinburgh), Simon Berghan (Edinburgh), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) Allan Dell (Edinburgh), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Willem Nel (Edinburgh), Gordon Reid (London Irish), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs), Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors), Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks), Blade Thomson (Scarlets), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors).


Darcy Graham (Edinburgh), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints), Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh), Finn Russell (Racing 92), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens).

Top Stories