Pro14: Ospreys 10-20 Connacht

Ospreys' Reuben Morgan-Williams clears the ball
Ospreys have only won one of their opening five games of the Pro14 season
Guinness Pro14: Ospreys v Connacht
Ospreys (3) 10
Tries: Parry Con: Hook Pens: Price
Connacht (17) 20
Tries: Adeolokun, Robb Cons: Fitzgerald 2 Pens: Fitzgerald 2

Connacht briefly returned to the top of Pro 14's Conference B as they inflicted defeat in Ospreys' 500th game.

Niyi Adeolokun and man of the match Peter Robb put the Irish province in control with first half tries.

Ospreys responded through Sam Parry's second half try but Connacht held on to claim a deserved victory.

Ospreys have now lost to all four Irish sides this season and defeat leaves Allen Clarke's side sixth in Conference A.

South Africa lock Marvin Orie, on-loan from Johannesburg-based side the Lions, was handed his Ospreys debut with captain Dan Lydiate reverting to his preferred back-row role.

Wayne Pivac, who will take over from Warren Gatland as Wales head coach, was an interested spectator at a rain-swept Liberty Stadium.

Luke Price's early penalty gave Ospreys the lead but it lasted all of two minutes as Connacht hit back with their first attack.

Adeolokun's fine individual try came in difficult conditions with Conor Fitzgerald adding the conversion and then a penalty to extend Connacht's lead.

Dan Lydiate
Wales international Dan Lyduiate was yellow carded during Ospreys' defeat by Connacht

Ospreys were reduced to 14 men when Lydiate was yellow carded and Connacht capitalised a minute later.

Centre Robb powered over under the posts for their second try of the game and leaving Fitzgerald with the simple task of converting.

Hooker Parry crashed over the line for a try to give Ospreys hope early in the second half and replacement James Hook's conversion reduced Connacht's lead.

But Fitzgerald's second penalty of the evening three minutes later put paid to any hope of an Ospreys comeback.

Ospreys did not even have the consolation of a losing point with Cai Evans' last gasp long range penalty going wide of the posts.

Ospreys: C Evans; Dirksen, S Williams, Thomas-Wheeler, T Williams; Price, Aubrey; R Jones, Parry, Botha, Orie, Ashley, Lydiate (capt), Cracknell, Baker.

Replacements: Otten, G Thomas, Fia, Cross, Morris, Morgan-Williams, Hook, Klim.

Connacht: Darragh Leader, Niyi Adeolokun, Tom Farrell, Peter Robb, John Porch, Conor Fitzgerald, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan, Dominic Robertson-McCoy, Ultan Dillane, Joe Maksymiw, Eoghan Masterson, Jarrad Butler (C), Paul Boyle.

Replacements: Jonny Murphy, Matthew Burke, Conor Kenny, Cillian Gallagher, Robin Copeland, Caolin Blade, Tom Daly, Stephen Fitzgerald.

Referee: Marius Mitrea (FIR)

Assistants: Craig Evans (WRU); Maniel Bottino (FIR)

TMO: Stefan Penne (FIR)

Top Stories