America's Cup: New Zealand beat USA to win first two races

Media playback is not supported on this device

Team New Zealand win both America's Cup openers

34th America's Cup

Venue:
San Francisco
Date:
7-21 September
Coverage:
Highlights on BBC Two, Red Button, BBC Sport website, BBC Sport app and Connected TV

Emirates Team New Zealand won both races on the America's Cup opening day in San Francisco Bay, to gain an early advantage over holders Oracle Team USA.

The Kiwis finished 36 seconds ahead of the Americans in the day's first race, and took the second by 52 seconds.

Sailing's premier event is a best-of-17-race series in 72ft catamarans.

Team USA require 11 victories to win the series, while Team New Zealand need nine after the Americans were docked two points for illegal modifications.

The Kiwis now lead by four points after dominating on day one, though after a strong start to the first race they were forced to fight to regain a lead they temporarily lost on the windward third leg.

In race two, they began well once again and extended their lead when Oracle's bow rose high and plunged into the bay while aggressively turning around the second marker.

Team New Zealand held their position to ensure Oracle had no chance of passing on the final leg of the race.

Race schedule

All times BST

Sun, 8 Sep: Final Race 3 (21:15), Final Race 4 (22:15)

Tue, 10 Sep: Final Race 5 (21:15), Final Race 6 (22:15)

Thu, 12 Sep: Race 7 (21:15), Race 8 (22:15)

Sat, 14 Sep Race 9 (21:15), Race 10 (22:15)

Sun, 15 Sep: Race 11 (21:15), Race 12 (22:15)

Mon, 16 Sep: Reserve Day

Tue, 17 Sep: Race 13 (21:15), Race 14 (22:15)

Wed, 18 Sep: Reserve Day

Thu, 19 Sep: Race 15 (21:15), Race 16 (22:15)

Fri, 20 Sep: Reserve Day

Sat, 21 Sep: Race 17 (21:15)

Sun, 22 Sep: Reserve Day

Mon, 23 Sep: Reserve Day

BBC coverage times

Highlights (all BST)

Sun, 8 Sep - 14:45-15:30 (BBC Two), 16:15-17:00 (Red Button)

Mon, 9 Sep - 13:30-14:15 (BBC Two), 14:15-15:00 (Red Button)

Wed, 11 Sep - 13:30-14:15 (BBC Two)

Fri, 13 Sep - 13:30-14:15 (BBC Two)

Sun, 15 Sep - 12:15-13:00 (BBC Two), 14:30-15:15 (Red Button)

Mon, 16 Sep - 13:30-14:15 (BBC Two), 14:15-15:00 (Red Button)

Wed, 18 Sep - 11:15-12:00 (BBC Two), 12:00-12:45 (Red Button)

Fri, 20 Sep - 13:30-14:15 (BBC Two), 14:15-15:00 (Red Button)

Sun, 22 Sep - 14:05-14:50 (BBC Two), 16:40-18:10 (Red Button)

Top Stories