Liechtenstein missing goal hero Philippe Erne

Philippe Erne celebrates
Erne opened the scoring for Liechtenstein against Lithuania

Liechtenstein will be without goal hero Philippe Erne for next month's Euro 2012 qualifier against Scotland.

The 24-year-old Vaduz forward hit the net with a 35-yard thunderbolt to open the scoring as Liechtenstein shocked Lithuania 2-0 in June.

But Erne, who has missed their following fixtures, has not been named in Bidu Zaugg's squad through injury.

Michele Polverino, who plays in Iran with Steel Azin and scored the second goal against Lithuania, is included.

The midfielder is one of only five players in the squad who play outside their homeland.

Goalkeeper Cengiz Bicer is in the Turkish Super League with Mersin Idman Yurdu, while midfielders Martin Buchel and Sandro Wieser are with Swiss top-flight clubs Zurich and Basel respectively.

Defender Martin Stocklasa plays with St Gallen in the Swiss second flight.

The squad also includes Balzers striker Mario Frick, who opened the scoring for Liechtenstein before Scotland scraped a 2-1 victory at Hampden Park last September thanks to Stephen McManus's last-minute header.

Scotland go into the 8 October return game at Rheinpark Stadion two points behind the Czech Republic in the race for the runners-up spot in Group I.

With only a fixture away to world champions Spain thereafter, Craig Levein's side must win in Vaduz to retain realistic hopes of a place in the play-offs.

Since beating Lithuania at home, Liechtentstein gave Switzerland a difficult game on their own patch before going down 2-1 in a friendly.

They also secured a 0-0 draw in Lithuania that ended the hosts' hopes of beating the Scots and Czechs to the play-off spot.

However, they were hammered 6-0 by runaway group leaders Spain in their latest fixture.

Liechtenstein squad

Goalkeepers: Peter Jehle (Vaduz), Cengiz Bicer (Mersin Idman Yurdu), Benjamin Buchel (Eschen/Mauren)

Defenders: Daniel Kaufmann (Eschen/Mauren), Yves Oehri (Vaduz), Martin Rechsteiner (Vaduz), Marco Ritzberger (Vaduz), Martin Stocklasa (St Gallen), Michael Stocklasa (Eschen/Mauren)

Midfielders: Martin Buchel (Zurich), Rony Hanselmann (Balzers), Nicolas Hasler (Vaduz), Wolfgang Kieber (Balzers), Michele Polverino (Steel Azin), Sandro Wieser (Basel 1893)

Forwards: Thomas Beck (Balzers), Mario Frick (Balzers), David Hasler (Vaduz)

Top Stories