Kyles Athletic take shinty's Sutherland Cup

By Charles BannermanBBC Scotland
The victorious Kyles Athletic team
Kyles scored three goals in extra-time to win the Aberdein Considine Sutherland Cup

An extra-time goal blitz gave Kyles Athletic the Aberdein Considine Sutherland Cup, shinty's reserve or junior national championship, with a 4-2 extra-time victory over Fort William at Newtonmore.

Kyles looked as if they might hold on to Mathew McColl's 1-0 lead and finish it in the 90 minutes but Duncan Rodgers grabbed a late equaliser.

Kyles then scored three in extra-time to clinch the trophy.

It took 20 minutes for Kyles to get McColl's vital opener but in the second half Fort turned the screw, Rodgers moved up to full forward and scored with his first touch there.

The game instantly turned back again in extra time when Gordon Whyte put Kyles back in front after 40 seconds, McColl's second made it 3-1 and Scott MacDonald got number four with eight minutes remaining before a very late own goal for Fort.

Promotion from the National Division to the Premiership will not now be decided until 27 September when Oban Camanachd play Fort William's first team since victories for both have kept that title race very much alive.

Fort boosted their goal difference to plus 53 with an 8-0 home win over Glenorchy. Bryan Simpson opened early, Daniel Stewart soon made it 2-0, Arran MacPhee got a double and Stewart completed his hat-trick before Neil Robertson and Gary Innes wrapped things up late on.

At Mossfield Park, Camanachd went 2-0 down to Beauly who had Sean Stewart and Jack MacDonald both on target within seven minutes.

Gavin Stobbart and Lorn Dickie levelled the game but Colin MacDonald quickly put Beauly ahead once more before a hat-trick from Andrew McCuish, including a penalty, put Camanachd well in the driving seat and Ian McMillan made the final score 6-3.

Bute, who are already relegated, got their first win of the season, 2-1 at home to Caberfeidh. Hector Whitelaw and John MacCallum put Bute two up and Neil Rose replied for Cabers.

Bute will be replaced in the Marine Harvest National Division by whoever wins the playoff between Skye and Ballachulish who both clinched their Area League titles when Skye beat Glenurquhart 4-0 and Ballachulish won 3-0 at Strachur.

Top Stories