World Championship: Ken Doherty goes out to Mark Davis

Ken Doherty
Ken Doherty beat Stephen Hendry to win the World title in 1997
World Championship
Venue: Crucible Theatre, Sheffield Dates: 18 April - 4 May
Coverage: Watch live on BBC TV, HD, Red Button, Connected TV, online, tablets, mobiles and BBC Sport app.

Former champion Ken Doherty has failed to reach the World Championship main draw after losing to Mark Davis in the third qualifying round on Wednesday.

The Irishman, 45, who won the title in 1997, trailed 8-1 after the first session before losing 10-3.

"I tried to make a fight of it but it just didn't happen. I was too far back," said Doherty.

Scotland's Graeme Dott is through to Saturday's main draw at the Crucible after beating China's Yu Delu 10-7.

"I don't care who I play," said Dott. "Ronnie O'Sullivan in the first game, why not? I've played three games and he's not played any.

"I don't think anyone is going to want to draw me. I'm not saying they will be intimidated but there will certainly be easier games than me."

Doherty added that he would love another chance to play at the Crucible.

"The crowd there is a very special feeling and when you miss out it does hurt," he said.

"I've had some good times and hopefully I will make one more appearance before I hang up the cue.

"It's getting more difficult every year but I still love playing and competing."

Former runner-up Matthew Stevens beat Joe Swail 10-5 to book his first Crucible appearance since 2013.

World Championship third qualifying round results

Andrew Higginson (Eng) 9-10 Robert Milkins (Eng)

Fergal O'Brien (Ire) 9-10 Kurt Maflin (Nor)

Robbie Williams (Eng) 10-5 Michael Holt (Eng)

Robin Hull (Fin) 10-4 Igor Figueiredo (Bra)

Li Hang (Chn) 9-10 Stuart Carrington (Eng)

Matthew Selt (Eng) 10-8 Tom Ford (Eng)

Xiao Guodong (Chn) 9-10 Jimmy Robertson (Eng)

Zhang Anda (Chn) 10-9 Liang Wenbo (Chn)

Matthew Stevens (Wal) 10-5 Joe Swail (NI)

Ryan Day (Wal) 10-6 Jak Jones (Wal)

Mark King (Eng) 9-10 Anthony McGill (Sco)

Adam Duffy (Eng) 8-10 Jamie Jones (Wal)

Mitchell Mann (Eng) 6-10 Alan McManus (Sco)

Mark Davis (Eng) 10-3 Ken Doherty (Ire)

Yu De Lu (Chn) 7-10 Graeme Dott (Sco)

Craig Steadman (Eng) 10-6 Jamie Burnett (Sco)