Players Championship: Hawkins and Walden reach semi-finals

Barry Hawkins
Barry Hawkins was beaten 10-1 by Ronnie O'Sullivan in the final of the 2016 Masters in January

Barry Hawkins will meet Ricky Walden in the last four of the Players Championship after the pair came through their quarter-finals.

World number eight Hawkins held off a comeback from Ding Junhui to beat the Chinese player 4-2 in Manchester.

Walden made century breaks in the first and third frames before easing to a 4-1 victory over Ali Carter.

Mark Allen was also a 4-1 winner, over Mike Dunn, and faces Shaun Murphy, who edged past Ben Woollaston 4-3.


Saturday, 26 March

Semi-finals (best of 11 frames)

NB: Clocks go forward one hour on Sunday, 27 March at 01:00 (1am) to mark the start of British Summer Time (BST).

Sunday, 27 March

Final (best of 19 frames)


Friday, 25 March

Quarter-finals (best of seven frames)

Barry Hawkins (Eng) 4-2 Ding Junhui (Chn)

Ricky Walden (Eng) 4-1 Ali Carter (Eng)

Mark Allen (NI) 4-1 Mike Dunn (Eng)

Shaun Murphy (Eng) 4-3 Ben Woollaston (Eng)

Thursday, 24 March

Second round (best of seven frames)

Ben Woollaston (Eng) 4-2 Matthew Selt (Eng)

Shaun Murphy (Eng) 4-1 Dominic Dale (Wal)

Mark Allen (NI) 4-2 Mark King (Eng)

Mike Dunn (Eng) 4-2 Ryan Day (Wal)

Ricky Walden (Eng) 4-2 Marco Fu (HK)

Ali Carter (Eng) 4-1 Judd Trump (Eng)

Ding Junhui (Chn) 4-0 Michael White (Wal)

Barry Hawkins (Eng) 4-3 Robert Milkins (Eng)

Wednesday, 23 March

First round

Barry Hawkins (Eng) 4-2 Michael Holt (Eng)

Matthew Selt (Eng) 4-1 Andrew Higginson (Eng)

Mark Allen (NI) 4-1 Mark Davis (Eng)

Mark King (Eng) 4-2 Sam Baird (Eng)

Ryan Day (Wal) 4-1 Kyren Wilson (Eng)

Tian Pengfei (Chn) 1-4 Robert Milkins (Eng)

Mark Williams (Wal) 3-4 Dominic Dale (Wal)

Tom Ford (Eng) 1-4 Ricky Walden (Eng)

Tuesday, 22 March

First round

Ding Junhui (Chn) 4-1 David Gilbert (Eng)

Marco Fu (HK) 4-3 Alan McManus (Sco)

Shaun Murphy (Eng) 4-1 Liang Wenbo (Chn)

Ben Woollaston (Eng) 4-3 Jimmy Robertson (Eng)

Michael White (Wal) 4-2 Luca Brecel (Bel)

Allister Carter (Eng) 4-1 Graeme Dott (Sco)

Martin Gould (Eng) 1-4 Judd Trump (Eng)

Rory McLeod (Eng) 1-4 Mike Dunn (Eng)