BBC Young Sports Personality of Year 2012 terms & conditions

Young Sports Personality of the Year 2012

This will be awarded to the outstanding young sports person aged 16 or under on 1 January 2012, selected from nominations made to the BBC and by sports governing bodies via the Youth Sport Trust. Nominations close on Monday 19 November 2012.

People are eligible to win the award if they are the right age and they are citizens of Britain or Northern Ireland or if they fulfil all three of the following criteria:

- They play a significant amount of their sport in the UK

- Their core achievements that year were achieved in the UK, and not with a national team (in which case they would more likely qualify for the Overseas award)

- They are residents in the UK

Judging Panel

BBC Sport's John Inverdale chairs a panel which includes BBC Sport presenters Ore Oduba, Sonali Shah and Helen Skelton, three representatives from the Youth Sports Trust, former Young Sports Personality of the Year winners Amy Spencer and Harry Aikines Aryeetey and two representatives from the BBC Sports Personality of the Year production team.

The panel meet to decide the top 10 contenders from the list of nominations collected by the Youth Sport Trust and the BBC on Monday 26 November 2012.

The panel will reconvene on Monday 3 December 2012 to select the top three and the winner from the top 10 list. They will select the winner by secret ballot. The final vote will be independently verified.

The top three will be invited to the live event and the other seven contenders will be notified out of courtesy that they have not made the final shortlist.

The winner will be announced live on the BBC Sports Personality of the Year show and the website on Sunday 16 December 2012.

Top Stories