Sports Personality 2014: Paul McGinley named Coach of Year

McGinley wins Coach of the Year

Europe's Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley capped a triumphant 2014 by winning Coach of the Year at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards.

The Irishman, who is 48 on Tuesday, oversaw a 16½-11½ win over the United States at Gleneagles in September.

While US skipper Tom Watson faced criticism, McGinley was praised for his organisation and management.

He will join up again with Ryder Cup player Rory McIlroy as Ireland golf team leader at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

"I'm very, very honoured," said McGinley, before paying tribute to the Gleneagles crowd.

"I need to thank the people of Scotland. Your support was huge. I had 12 great players, 12 great personalities and a great backroom team and vice captains," the four-time winner of the Ryder Cup added.

"My plan as coach was to allow the vice-captains to follow each game. I had a plan and was getting the information fed in and was plotting the next move.

"We never had one hand on the cup. A lot of thought went in to the order. I did not think of myself as a cheerleader. I was managing the situation as best as possible," said the Irishman.

Paul McGinley
Paul McGinley won his fourth Ryder Cup at Gleneagles in 2014. He has won three as a player, and one as captain

Just after Europe retained the Ryder Cup, McIlroy said: "I think I speak on behalf of all the 12 players and say he couldn't have done anything else. He was fantastic."

Lee Westwood, playing in his ninth Ryder Cup this year, said McGinley had laid down the blueprint for future European Ryder Cup captains, while Spaniard Sergio Garcia, a veteran of seven Ryder Cups, suggested he had modernised the role.

Speaking with BBC Radio 5 live afterwards, McGinley also paid tribute to the input of former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson:

"Alex Ferguson was great. I met him infrequently over 10 years and then met him in Manchester a year ago over some lunch with wine. He paid!

"We went to a nice place where he goes and spent a large number of hours. The reason why I chose him is because he went through many of the dynamics with Man United.

"They were a great team to watch and we had the same dynamics. That brings a lot of expectation. There are all things we've dealt with."

Recent Coach of the Year Award winners
2013: Warren Gatland (rugby union) 2012: David Brailsford (cycling)
2011: Andy Flower (cricket)2010: Colin Montgomerie (golf)
2009: Fabio Capello (football)2008: Dave Brailsford (cycling)
2007: Enzo Calzaghe (boxing)2006: Daniel Anderson (rugby league)

Top Stories