BBC Sports Personality 2014: Glasgow set for awards show

BBC Sports Personality contenders: Kelly Gallagher and Charlotte Evans, Rory McIlroy, Carl Froch, Lewis Hamilton, Max Whitlock, Adam Peaty, Gareth Bale, Charlotte Dujardin, Jo Pavey, Lizzy Yarnold
The winner will be announced during this year's Sports Personality programme in Glasgow
BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2014
Venue: SSE Hydro, Glasgow Date: Sunday, 14 December Show: 20:00 GMT
Coverage: Red Carpet Show 18:15-19:00 and Preview 19:00-20:00 on BBC Red Button, online and mobiles; Radio 5 live coverage from 19:30-23:00; Live television from 20:00-22:20 on BBC One, online and mobiles; Winners' Hour 22:20-23:20 on Red Button, online and mobiles; Live text online.

Ten contenders are in the running for the 2014 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award on Sunday.

Golfer Rory McIlroy, footballer Gareth Bale, gymnast Max Whitlock, F1's Lewis Hamilton and swimmer Adam Peaty are shortlisted with athlete Jo Pavey.

Boxer Carl Froch, dressage's Charlotte Dujardin, skeleton's Lizzy Yarnold, and Paralympic skier Kelly Gallagher and guide Charlotte Evans are nominated.

The public vote for their favourite by phone and online during the show.

Sports Personality 2015 - a history in numbers

Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan will present the programme from Glasgow on BBC One from 20:00 GMT, with further coverage on BBC Radio 5 live and the BBC Sport website.

The event, taking place before an audience of 12,000 at the SSE Hydro arena, will celebrate a year of drama which included the World Cup, Winter Olympics and Commonwealth Games.

Voting details, including phone numbers for each nominee, will be announced during the programme, when people can also cast their votes online.

To vote online during the programme, you can register in advance.

With an array of candidates to choose from, an expert 12-member panel faced some difficult choices finalising the shortlist.

Sports Personality panel
Olympians Rebecca Adlington and Denise Lewis, Paralympian Baroness Grey-Thompson and footballer Jason Roberts
Newspaper sports editors Mike Dunn (Independent, the i and Evening Standard), Howard Wheatcroft (Express Newspapers head of sport) and Alex Butler (Sunday Times); pan-sports broadcaster/journalist Alison Mitchell and the chair of Sportscotland Louise Martin
Director of BBC Sport Barbara Slater; head of TV sport Philip Bernie and Carl Doran (executive editor, BBC Sports Personality of the Year)

Viewers and the audience will be treated to an event with a real Scottish flavour.

Along with band Simple Minds performing on the programme, there will also be live performances from violinist Nicola Benedetti and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.

Last year's Sports Personality winner, tennis star Andy Murray, said: "It has been a sensational year for sport in Scotland with the Commonwealth Games and the Ryder Cup among lots of other major events that have taken place there.

"As a proud Scot, it's wonderful that we have been in the position to be able to host so many key events in the sporting calendar.

"Scotland did such a superb job of hosting the Commonwealths and the Ryder Cup, and I'm sure it will be no different for Sports Personality of the Year. It'll be a special night for the whole of Scotland and the UK, celebrating some of our best sportsmen and women."

Past 10 winners
2013: Andy Murray (tennis)2012: Sir Bradley Wiggins (cycling)
2011: Mark Cavendish (cycling)2010: AP McCoy (horse racing)
2009: Ryan Giggs (football)2008: Sir Chris Hoy (cycling)
2007: Joe Calzaghe (boxing)2006: Zara Phillips (equestrian)
2005: Andrew Flintoff (cricket)2004: Dame Kelly Holmes (athletics)
All the award winners

One of the biggest music acts of 2014, Clean Bandit, will also take to the stage, joined by singer Jess Glynne.

In addition to the main prize, there will also be seven other awards on the night:

  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
  • Young Sports Personality of the Year
  • Helen Rollason Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - already announced, for cyclist Sir Chris Hoy
  • Unsung Hero

Top Stories