BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year 2015 nominations closed

Fragapane wins Young Sports Personality award

Which young sports star has captured your imagination and impressed you the most this year?

Nominations for the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year 2015 award have now closed.

The winner will be revealed during this year's BBC Sports Personality of the Year, which will come from Belfast's SSE Arena on Sunday, 20 December.

Last year's winner was gymnast Claudia Fragapane, who won four gold medals at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Previous winners include diver Tom Daley, tennis player Andy Murray, footballer Wayne Rooney, Paralympian Ellie Simmonds and golfer Lauren Taylor, but who will be celebrating this year?

Nominations for the Young Sports Personality of the Year were made to the BBC and by sports governing bodies via the Youth Sport Trust and a panel will decide the winner from the shortlisted nominees.

Nominees must have been 17 or under on 1 January 2015. Full terms and conditions can be found here.

BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year has again joined forces with Blue Peter to offer one young viewer the chance to join the panel - sitting alongside some of our leading sports stars to decide this year's shortlist.

The lucky viewer will be selected from those who have applied for a Blue Peter Sport Badge - that is also now closed. The panel for this year's BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year will be announced at a later date.

Will Roberts, the Youth Sport Trust's head of sport, said: "It's truly inspiring to see the number of young people rising up across a range of sports. It's not easy to shortlist just 10 athletes from such a wealth of talent and I wish all those nominated the best of luck.

"I hope that all those involved will go on to inspire the next generation of youngsters in highlighting the power of sport to change young people's lives for the better."

Previous winners
Claudia Fragapane - 2014Amber Hill - 2013
Josef Craig - 2012Lauren Taylor - 2011
Tom Daley - 2010Tom Daley - 2009
Ellie Simmonds - 2008Tom Daley - 2007
Theo Walcott - 2006Harry Aikines-Aryeetey - 2005
Andy Murray - 2004Kate Haywood - 2003
Wayne Rooney - 2002Amy Spencer - 2001
Jenson Button - 2000Dean Macey - 1999

Top Stories