BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year 2015 panel named

Young Sports Personality of the Year

The panel has been named for the 2015 Young Sports Personality of the Year.

Former winners of the award Amber Hill and Josef Craig join Sochi 2014 bronze medallist Jenny Jones on the panel, who will sit down this month to decide the winner.

The panel chair will be broadcaster John Inverdale and other judges include Blue Peter's Radzi Chinyanganya and Radio 1's Tina Daheley.

The closing date for nominations for the award was Friday, 13 November.

The award will be presented during the Sports Personality of the Year show on Sunday, 20 December at the SSE Arena in Belfast.

Claudia Fragapane
Gymnast Claudia Fragapane was named 2014 Young Sports Personality of the Year after winning four Commonwealth golds

Who is on the panel?

The Young Sports Personality of the Year award will be determined by the following panel:

  • John Inverdale (chair)
  • Carl Doran (Sports Personality of the Year executive editor)
  • Jenny Jones (Snowboarder and Winter Olympics bronze medallist)
  • Amber Hill (2013 Young Sports Personality of the Year winner)
  • Josef Craig (2012 Young Sports Personality of the Year winner)
  • Tina Daheley (Radio 1)
  • Radzi Chingyanganya (Blue Peter presenter)
  • Blue Peter Sport Badge 2015 winner
  • Three senior members of the Youth Sport Trust

How can you nominate?

Nominations for this year closed on Friday, 13 November. They are made to the BBC and by sports governing bodies via the Youth Sport Trust and a panel will decide the winner from the shortlisted nominees.

Nominees must have been 17 or under on 1 January 2015. Full terms and conditions can be found here.

Who else has won this award?

Wayne Rooney wins Young Sports Personality of the Year in 2002

Last year's winner was gymnast Claudia Fragapane, who won four gold medals at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Previous winners include Olympic bronze medal winning diver Tom Daley, two-time Grand Slam tennis player Andy Murray, England football captain Wayne Rooney, four-time Paralympic champion Ellie Simmonds and golfer Lauren Taylor.

But who will be celebrating this year?

Previous winners
Claudia Fragapane - 2014Amber Hill - 2013
Josef Craig - 2012Lauren Taylor - 2011
Tom Daley - 2010Tom Daley - 2009
Ellie Simmonds - 2008Tom Daley - 2007
Theo Walcott - 2006Harry Aikines-Aryeetey - 2005
Andy Murray - 2004Kate Haywood - 2003
Wayne Rooney - 2002Amy Spencer - 2001
Jenson Button - 2000Dean Macey - 1999