World Swimming Championships: Sloan and Ferguson named in Ireland team

Jordan Sloan
Jordan Sloan celebrates after breaking Ryan Harrison's Irish 200m freestyle record last month

Northern Ireland swimmers Jordan Sloan and Conor Ferguson have been named in the Irish team for the World Championship in Budapest in July.

The duo are included in a seven-strong team which is Ireland's biggest world championship selection since 2009.

Shane Ryan and Nicholas Quinn are included along with fellow Rio Olympian Oliver Dingley who was Ireland's first Olympic diver competitor in 68 years.

Sloan and Ferguson booked Budapest berths at last month's Irish Nationals.

Sloan, 23, broke Ryan Harrison's national 200m freestyle record from 2009 as he secured a World Championship qualifying time of 1:47.41.

The Bangor man also broke the Irish 100m freestyle record last month.

His club-mate Ferguson will compete in backstroke events in Hungary, prior to heading to the USA for his main summer target, the World Junior Championships in Indianapolis.

Sligo swimmer Mona McSharry will also gain major championship experience in Budapest before heading on to the World Juniors.

Ferguson and McSharry both won European Junior medals in Hungary last year.

American-born Ryan reached the 100m backstroke semi-finals in Rio and will also compete in several other events in Hungary.

Mayo man Quinn will swim in the breaststroke events in Hungary while Brendan Hyland will complete in the medley relay along with Ryan, Quinn and Sloan.

Sloan, Quinn, Ryan and Hyland will also compete as part of 12-strong Ireland team at the World University Games in Taipei in late August.

Ulster trio Curtis Coulter, Conor Brines and Calum Bain will also make the Taipei trip.

World Swimming Championships - Budapest 15/30 July

Jordan Sloan (Bangor), Shane Ryan (NAC), Nicholas Quinn (Castlebar), Mona McSharry (Marlins), Conor Ferguson (Bangor)


Oliver Dingley (Shamrock Diving Club)

World University Games - Taipei 20/27 August

Shane Ryan (Penn State University), Nicholas Quinn (University of Edinburgh), Jordan Sloan (Ulster University), Brendan Hyland (Dublin City University), Rory McEvoy (University of Limerick), Conor Brines (Queen's University Belfast), Darragh Greene (University College Dublin), David Prendergast (University College Dublin), Calum Bain (University of Stirling), Curtis Coulter (Queen's University Belfast)


Jack Ffrench (Maynooth University), Natasha MacManus (Princeton University)

European Diving Championships - Kiev 11-18 June

Oliver Dingley (Shamrock Diving Club), Jack Ffrench (Shamrock Diving Club)

Top Stories