Andy Murray to face Novak Djokovic at ATP World Tour Finals

British number one Andy Murray will play world number one Novak Djokovic in the group stages of the ATP World Tour Finals at the O2 Arena in London.

Murray will also play David Ferrer and Tomas Berdych in the round-robin group, which starts on Sunday.

World number two Rafael Nadal will take on Roger Federer, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Mardy Fish in group B.

The top two from each group will qualify for the semi-finals at the season-ending tournament.

Murray's first match will be against Ferrer on Monday.

World number three Murray was beaten by Djokovic, who is chasing an 11th title in 2011, in the final of the Australian Open in January but won their last meeting in the final of the Western & Southern Open in Cincinnati in August.

The 24-year-old Scot, who was beaten in last year's semi-final by Nadal, also faces Berdych, the man who ended his 17-match winning streak at the Paris Masters.

Czech player Berdych qualified for the tournament by reaching the quarter-finals in Paris.

Reigning champion Federer, who beat Nadal in last year's final, is in good form, having won last week's event in the French capital with a victory over Tsonga.

Before the draw, former world number one Federer said: "If Djokovic is fit and Murray is fit - which it seems like he is - they will be difficult to beat, and Rafa [Nadal], regardless of how he's going to be, is always a tough customer.

"Everybody can beat everybody - I don't feel like [the players ranked] five, six, seven and eight have no chance - I definitely feel like they have a chance to go deep [into the competition]."

Djokovic and Nadal, as the top two seeds, were kept apart in the draw, as were third-ranked Murray and fourth seed Federer.

Ferrer and Tsonga, as the fifth and sixth best players in the word were also separated, as were seventh and eighth-ranked Berdych and Fish.

ATP World Tour Finals order of play:

Sunday, 20 November: Federer v Tsonga (not before 1400 GMT), Nadal v Fish (not before 2000 GMT).

Monday, 21 November Murray v Ferrer (not before 1400 GMT), Djokovic v Berdych (not before 2000 GMT).

Top Stories