2012 Australian Open: GB's Andy Murray seeded fourth

Britain's Andy Murray has been seeded fourth for the 2012 Australian Open which begins on Monday, 16 January.

World number one Novak Djokovic, who beat Murray in last year's final, is top seed, ahead of Spain's Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer of Switzerland.

Denmark's world number one Caroline Wozniacki leads the women's field, ahead of Czech Republic's Petra Kvitova and Victoria Azarenka of Belarus.

The draw will take place in Melbourne on Thursday, 12 January at 2300 GMT.

Defending women's champion Kim Clijsters of Belgium is seeded 12th, while Li Na, who created history at Melbourne Park by becoming the first Chinese woman to reach a Grand Slam final, is fifth.

Men's top 16 seeds:

1 Novak Djokovic (Ser)

2 Rafael Nadal (Spa)

3 Roger Federer (Swi)

4 Andy Murray (GB)

5 David Ferrer (Spa)

6 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (Fra)

7 Tomas Berdych (Cze)

8 Mardy Fish (US)

9 Janko Tipsarevic (Ser)

10 Nicolas Almagro (Spa)

11 Juan Martin Del Potro (Arg)

12 Gilles Simon (Fra)

13 Alexandr Dolgopolov (Ukr)

14 Gael Monfils (Fra)

15 Andy Roddick (US)

16 John Isner (US)

Women's top 16 seeds:

1 Caroline Wozniacki (Den)

2 Petra Kvitova (Cze)

3 Victoria Azarenka (Blr)

4 Maria Sharapova (Rus)

5 Li Na (Chn)

6 Samantha Stosur, (Aus)

7 Vera Zvonareva (Rus)

8 Agnieszka Radwanska (Pol)

9 Marion Bartoli (Fra)

10 Andrea Petkovic (Ger)

11 Francesca Schiavone (Ita)

12 Kim Clijsters (Bel)

13 Serena Williams (US)

14 Jelena Jankovic (Ser)

15 Sabine Lisicki (Ger)

16 Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (Rus)