Serena Williams wins WTA Tour Player of the Year award

Media playback is not supported on this device

Wimbledon 2012 highlights: Serena Williams wins fifth title

Serena Williams has been named WTA Tour Player of the Year for the fourth time after winning Wimbledon,the US Open and Olympic gold in 2012.

The American struggled at the start of the year and went out of the Australian Open in the fourth round.

However, tournament victories in Charleston and Madrid in April and May set up the world number three for a run of 48 wins in 50 matches.

Williams previously won the WTA award in 2002, 2008 and 2009.

William, 31, ended her year by winning the WTA Tour Championships in Istanbul, beating Maria Sharapova 6-4 6-3 in the final.

She finished the season third in the world rankings behind Victoria Azarenka and Sharapova, but could regain the world number one ranking for the first time since October 2010 if she wins the Australian Open in January.

Williams is one of only three players to win the award more than twice in its 36-year history, alongside eight-time winner Steffi Graf and seven-time winner Martina Navratilova.

Top Stories