Pan Pacific Open: Ana Ivanovic beats Caroline Wozniacki in final

Ana Ivanovic in action against Caroline Wozniacki
Ana Ivanovic beat Caroline Wozniacki in one hour 39 minutes

Serb Ana Ivanovic won her fourth WTA title of the year with a 6-2 7-6 (7-2) victory against Caroline Wozniacki in the Pan Pacific Openexternal-link in Tokyo.

It is the first time the 26-year-old world number ten has won four events in the same year and she is expected to move up to fifth in the rankings.

The opening set between the two former world number ones saw third seed Ivanovic win 17 successive points.

US Open finalist Wozniacki rallied but was beaten in one hour 39 minutes.

"The key for me was coming forward to the net," said Ivanovic, seeded three for the tournament.

"Wozniacki is a great offensive player and gets a lot of balls back so it was important for me to come forward and play well at the net."

It was the 52nd match win of the year for Ivanovic, surpassing the 51 she recorded in 2007.

Having been broken three times in the first set, world number nine Wozniacki started building some momentum.

The Danish player, seeded two, broke serve for 3-1 in the second set and was up 30-15 in that game, just two points from a 4-1 lead.

But Ivanovic won five of the next eight games to push the set to a tie-break, which she played almost flawlessly, sealing the match with a powerfully struck forehand winner.

The win increases Ivanovic's chances of a place in the WTA Finals, with the top eight players qualifying for Singapore from 17-26 October, and improves her record against 24-year-old Wozniacki to 5-2.

Meanwhile in the WTA Korean Open, second seed Karolina Pliskova beat fifth seed Varvara Lepchenko in the final 6-3 6-7 (5-7) 6-2. Lepchenko had beaten top seed Agnieszka Radwanska in the quarter-finals.

Ana Ivanovic celebrates her victory
Ana Ivanovic has now won 15 WTA titles
Caroline Wozniacki and Ana Ivanovic
The finalists were presented with distinctive trophies
Caroline Wozniacki
Caroline Wozniacki also lost in the final of the US Open, beaten by Serena Williams