Andy Murray is Australian Open sixth seed, Novak Djokovic No 1

Andy Murray
Andy Murray reached the Australian Open final in 2010, 2011 and 2013 but has never won the title
Australian Open 2015
Dates: 19 January-1 February Venue: Melbourne Coverage: Commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra, selected live text commentaries and daily reports on the BBC Sport website

Britain's Andy Murray, a three-time finalist, will be seeded sixth for the Australian Open, with Serbia's Novak Djokovic the number one seed.

Five-time champion Serena Williams is top seed for the women's event while Britain's Heather Watson will have no protection in Friday's draw.

Former champion Victoria Azarenka, who is ranked 41st in the world after an injury-hit 2014, is also unseeded.

The tournament, the first Grand Slam of the year, begins on Monday.

The seedings mirror the world rankings.

Spain's David Ferrer is the ninth seed in the men's draw after the withdrawal of US Open champion Marin Cilic, while world number 12 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga's absence with a forearm strain means Ernests Gulbis moves up to 11th seed.

Britons Kyle Edmund and Liam Broady are two matches away from reaching the main draw after wins in the first round of qualification.

Men's top 16 seeds

1. Novak Djokovic (Ser)

2. Roger Federer (Swi)

3. Rafael Nadal (Spa)

4. Stan Wawrinka (Swi)

5. Kei Nishikori (Jpn)

6. Andy Murray (GB)

7. Tomas Berdych (Cze)

8. Milos Raonic (Can)

9. David Ferrer (Spa)

10. Grigor Dimitrov (Bul)

11. Ernests Gulbis (Lat)

12. Feliciano Lopez (Spa)

13. Roberto Bautista Agut (Spa)

14. Kevin Anderson (SA)

15. Tommy Robredo (Spa)

16. Fabio Fognini (Ita)

Women's top 16 seeds

1. Serena Williams (US)

2. Maria Sharapova (Rus)

3. Simona Halep (Rom)

4. Petra Kvitova (Cze)

5. Ana Ivanovic (Ser)

6. Agnieszka Radwanska (Pol)

7. Eugenie Bouchard (Can)

8. Caroline Wozniacki (Den)

9. Angelique Kerber (Ger)

10. Ekaterina Makarova (Rus)

11. Dominika Cibulkova (Svk)

12. Flavia Pennetta (Ita)

13. Andrea Petkovic (Ger)

14. Sara Errani (Ita)

15. Jelena Jankovic (Ser)

16. Lucie Safarova (Cze)

Top Stories