Wimbledon: Singles champions to get £2m in 2016

Wimbledon chief Philip Brook outlines changes for 2016 tournament

The men's and women's singles champions at Wimbledon will get £2m each this year, with total prize money up to £28.1m, an increase of £1.35m.

Last year's champions - Serb Novak Djokovic and American Serena Williams - each pocketed £1.88m.

The 2016 championships, which take place at the All England Club, will also feature wheelchair singles events for the first time.

Doubles tournaments have been running at Wimbledon for the past 10 years.

Total prize money for wheelchair players will be £200,000, a significant increase on 2015, when £64,000 was on offer in the two doubles events.

Britain's Jordanne Whiley, who has won the women's wheelchair doubles at Wimbledon for the last two years, tweeted her delight at the news.

Jordanne Whiley tweet

How does Wimbledon compare?

Australian Open (2016):

  • Winners: AUD$3.85m (£2.04m)
  • Total: AUD$44m (£23.31m)

French Open (2016):

  • Winners: €2m (£1.55m)
  • Total: €32m (£24.77m)

US Open (2015):

  • Winners: $3.3m (£2.26m)
  • Total: $42,253,400 (£28.919m)

Based on currency rates - 26 April, 2016

Wimbledon also plans to boost its security and commitment to integrity in tennis following a number of damaging headlinesexternal-link about match-fixing and doping.

These include stricter accreditation procedures, additional data provision, monitoring and analysis, more education and support for players and officials, as well as increased anti-doping measures.

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC