Davis Cup 2016: GB name five-man squad for semi-final with Argentina

Great Britain with the Davis Cup trophy in 2015
Great Britain beat Belgium 3-1 at the Flanders Expo in Ghent

Holders Great Britain have named a five-man squad for their Davis Cup semi-final with Argentina in Glasgow.

Leon Smith again captains the team and Wimbledon champion Andy Murray will be joined by Dan Evans, Kyle Edmund, Jamie Murray and Dominic Inglot.

The four players to contest the tie at the Emirates Arena from 16-18 September will be announced on 15 September.

The winners of the tie will face either Croatia or France in the final, which runs from 25-27 November.

Smith, who will also have Liam Broady with him as a non-playing member of the squad, said: "We are leaving no stone unturned in our preparations and I know that our team will give their best effort and fight for every point in this tie."

He added that it meant a lot to the team to be playing in Glasgow again after winning twice there en route to their Davis Cup triumph last year.

"The venue is full of such positive memories for us all," said Smith. "The support... it has been just incredible. I can't wait to hear that again."

Britain, who beat Belgium in Ghent last year to win the Davis Cup for the first time since 1938, have won only one of their previous four competition encounters with Argentina.

The only South American team in the World Group, Argentina defeated Poland and Italy en route to the last four.

Their team will feature Juan Martin del Potro, the man Murray defeated in last month's Olympic final in Rio.

Joining Del Potro in the Argentina squad are world number 43 Federico Delbonis, Guido Pella, who is ranked 51, and 117th-ranked Leonardo Mayer.

Top Stories