Ironman World Championships: Joyce & Blatchford in top three

Mirinda Carfrae

Britons Rachel Joyce and Liz Blatchford were second and third respectively as Australia's Mirinda Carfrae won the Ironman World Championship in Hawaii.

Carfrae, 32, won her second title in a time of eight hours 52 minutes 14 seconds, breaking Briton Chrissie Wellington's course record of 8:54:02.

Joyce was second in 8:57:28, with Blatchford (9:03:35) third and defending champion Leanda Cave 13th.

The event comprises a 2.4-mile swim, a 112-mile cycle and a 26.2-mile run.

Carfrae, also champion in 2010, said: "I just had one of those days where you don't hurt - I didn't know I had a performance like that in me."

British competitors had won the race in five of the previous six years, four by Wellington.

Joyce, 35, said: "I gave everything and when you do that, you can't ask for any more."

Compatriot Jodie Swallow did not finish.

The men's race was won by Belgium's Frederik Van Lierde in 8:12:29 - the eighth-fastest time in the 35-year history of the event.

"I tried to be smart and it worked out," said Van Lierde, who was third in 2012.

"After last year, I believed I could do it. I worked hard this year. This is amazing."