National Road Race Cycling route confirmed

Welsh cyclist Becky James talks about the sport's star names competing in her home town

The routes for June's British National Road Race Championships in Abergavenny have been confirmed.

Riders have to negotiate 116 miles of rural roads and punishing climbs for the men's race and 63 miles for the women's event.

Sir Bradley Wiggins and Chris Froome are expected to battle it out with Geraint Thomas and reigning champion Mark Cavendish for the men's title.

Monmouthshire last hosted the national championships in 2009.

Mark Cavendish in Glasgow in 2013, with Lizzie Armitstead taking the women's race.

Alex Dowsett and Jo Rowsell won their respective time trials.

Jonny Clay, cycle sport and membership director for British Cycling, said Monmouthshire has a good track record of hosting cycling events.

"This is the second time in five years that the championships has visited Wales with the event held in Abergavenny in 2009," said Clay.

"Abergavenny also hosted a very successful British Cycling premier calendar road race last year and has a strong pedigree in cycling.

"In 2009 we saw a race in which Chris Froome, Sir Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish were all key protagonists and 2014 should be a fitting prelude to the Tour de France Grand Depart in the UK."

Top Stories