National Road Championships: Cavendish and Wiggins to race

Mark Cavendish

The 2012 Tour de France winner Sir Bradley Wiggins will compete at this month's National Road Championships in Monmouthshire along with defending road race champion Mark Cavendish, British Cycling has announced.

Other defending champions are Lizzie Armistead, Alex Dowsett and Joanna Rowsell, with Wales' Geraint Thomas taking part before he is expected to join Team Sky's Tour de France squad.

Time trials in Abergavenny begin on Thursday 26 June, with the road races starting on Sunday 29 June.

More than 250 competitors are expected to take part.

Abergavenny last hosted the championships in 2009, when Kristian House won the elite men's road race.

House will challenge defending champion Cavendish in the road race, which will also feature world-class competition from Wiggins, who has announced he does not expect to feature in Team Sky's squad for the 2014 Tour de France.

Tour of Bavaria winner Thomas and current Elite Road Series leader Yanto Barker will also compete.

In the elite women's road race, Lizzie Armistead will aim to defend her title against double Olympic track gold medallist Laura Trott, junior world road champion Lucy Garner and current National Circuit Race Champion Hannah Barnes.

Four-time Olympic gold medallist Wiggins will challenge defending champion Dowsett in the elite men's time trial, with David Millar, Thomas and Matt Bottrill also competing.

And in the elite women's time trial, Rowsell will face competition from Armitstead, Katie Archibald and Paralympic champion Dame Sarah Storey.