Ten Pieces Trailblazers

Coming Summer 2019!

The new set of ten pieces will focus on composers and works that have changed the way we think of classical and orchestral music – how it can be made, what it can sound like, and who can create it.

We want to showcase works that have helped expand our musical horizons, pieces that have introduced new cultures and sound worlds into the orchestra, and composers whose lives and works have made them pioneers. For the first time, we will be exploring music for Film and Television and looking closer into music with influences from across the globe.

Orchestral music is a living, evolving art form. These pieces help to tell that ever-changing story.

1. Hans Zimmer – Earth BBC Ten Pieces Commission

2. George Gershwin – Rhapsody in Blue (excerpt)

3. Ravi Shankar – Symphony – finale (excerpt)

4. Delia Derbyshire – Doctor Who Theme (original theme composed by Ron Grainer)

5. Antonio Vivaldi – ‘Winter’ from ‘The Four Seasons’, Allegro non molto (1st mvt)

6. Grażyna Bacewicz – Overture

7. Steve Reich – Music for 18 Musicians (excerpt)

8. Heitor Villa-Lobos – Bachianas brasileiras No. 2, The Little Train of the Caipira (finale)

9. Florence Price – Symphony No. 1 in E minor (3rd mvt)

10. Johannes Brahms – Hungarian Dance No. 5 in G minor

The Ten Pieces Trailblazers films and resources will be launched in August 2019 to coincide with the start of the Scottish school term. These resources will be available for free, alongside the existing Ten Pieces I, II and III resources.

Explore Ten Pieces

Sign up to Ten Pieces
Your Earth Mission, should you choose to accept it…
Discover Ten Pieces I, II and III